Working groups

As issues arise which require a coordinated approach from the sector to resolve, the RCA Forum establishes a working group.  These working groups seek to complete their task as expeditiously as possible, but continue as long as the issues require attention.  Membership normally comprises representatives of local authority members and New Zealand Transport Agency members as appropriate.  Some issues, such as the spillage of stock effluent onto roads from trucks, involve organisations outside of the Forum membership as such wider-sector cooperation is essential to achieving successful outcomes.

Similarly, new issues and sector challenges are constantly arising.  Providing for cycling and active transport modes has become an important issue for members and a working group has been established to ensure that a coordinated approach identifies best practice.  The challenges facing many rural members are being recognised, too, with a new group being established to investigate funding the accelerated pavement consumption of low volume roads from unplanned heavy vehicle traffic. 

Membership of working groups turns over regularly and new volunteers are always welcome to ensure that the membership is fully represented.  Where members have a particular interest in any issue, they should make this known, so that they can be given an opportunity to become involved in a working group or reference group on that issue if the need arises.  Contact us.

The Forum will also work with outside working groups, such as the NZ Utilities Advisory Group, the RIMS (Road Information Management Systems) Group and the Road Efficiency Group (REG).

Current group members

The Research and Guidelines Steering Group comprises: Executive representatives Kaye Clark (NZTA), Jim Paterson (Western Bay of Plenty) and Warren Furner (Ruapehu), RCA representatives Murray Hasler (Gore), Fiona Vessey (Matamata-Piako), Fergus Tate (NZTA) and Glenn Bunting (NZTA), and representatives of the working groups - Jamie Cox from the working group on funding the impacts of heavy vehicles on local roads, and Gerry Dance and Wayne Newman, co-conveners of the working group on ensuring best practice in providing facilities for walking and cycling.  Murray Hasler is the convener of the Research and Guidelines Steering Group.

The working group on funding the impacts of heavy vehicles on local roads comprises: Jamie Cox (Wairoa), Warren Furner (Ruapehu), Rui Leitao (Wanganui), Martin Taylor (Whakatane), Henri van Zyl (Kaipara), Wayne Furlong (Waikato), Vincent Lim (South Taranaki), Joe Bourque (Southland), Steve Murrin (NZTA - Marlborough), Jamie McPherson (Tasman), Murray Gimblett (NZTA), Jeff Devine (Whangarei), Wil Pille (Far North), Peter Scott (Auckland Transport).  Jamie Cox is the convener.

The working group on providing best practice guidance on facilities for cycling and walking is known as the Active Modes Infrastructure Group and comprises: Gerry Dance (NZTA), Glen Koorey (Canterbury University), Glenn Bunting (NZTA), Tim Hughes (NZTA), Paul Barker (Wellington), Sandi Morris (Palmerston North), Claire Sharland (Taupo), Kathryn King (Auckland Transport), Ina Stenzel (Auckland Transport), Susan Lilley (Dunedin), Richard Bean (NZTA), Clare Cassidy (Tauranga) and Dougal List (NZTA).  Gerry Dance and Wayne Newman are co-conveners.